Select Page

Grand Canyon location

West Canyon (with glass bridge)

Should I go to the Glass Bridge to go to West Canyon?

South Canyon (national park, no glass bridge)

Image from Grand Canyon National Park website

Which spots in the South Canyon are the most beautiful? Don’t miss the South Gorge attractions

Hopi Point

Hopi Point is one of the attractions in the Grand Canyon with panoramic views.It combines fantastic views to the west and east of the canyon more than any other point on the South Rim.This spot is famous as a good place to watch the sunset.

Hopi Point is located on Hermit Drive, and you can enter this route by walking along the Grand Canyon Park to the far west.From March to November, this Hermit Drive will be closed, and private vehicles are not allowed in and out, but there is a free shuttle bus line in the park, starting from the west of Bright Angel Lodge, you can easily take this shuttle bus Walk around the sights on Hermit Drive.Usually every 3 minutes, so you can calculate the time, stop at each point for 11 minutes or 15 minutes and then ride to the next point.If you don't have a car, you can also walk slowly and follow the walk to Hopi Point.From the start of Hermit Drive you will need to walk about 15 miles to Hopi Point, but you will also pass a few nice other attractions along the way.

Powell Point

Powell Point is just east of Hopi Point and has excellent eastern scenery, making it a great place to watch the sunrise.Since it is not as famous as Hopi Point, there are relatively few people visiting this point.Like Hopi Point, you can take the red line shuttle bus to the west, or you can walk here along the trail. (It is also about 2 miles from the west into Hermit Drive)

Powell Point is named after John Wesley Powell, the first person to successfully complete a trip to the Grand Canyon from the Colorado River.A monument to this historic achievement is located at Powell Point.

Bright Angel Point

Bright Angel is on the east side of Powell Point, and when visiting Bright Angel, must-sees include the El Tovar Hotel and Kolb Studio. El Tovar Hotel has hosted many stars, celebrities and dignitaries from all over the world. If you are considering staying in the Grand Canyon, you can try to book El Tovar Hotel for a celebrity-like experience. Kolb Studio is one of the earliest buildings in the Grand Canyon National Park. It was built by the Kolb brothers on the edge of the Grand Canyon in 1902. It was originally built as the home and photo studio of the Kolb brothers. It was bought and later used as an art gallery, bookstore and consultation center.

Kolb Studio at Grand Canyon National Park

Yavapai Point

Yavapai Point is near the visitor center.This point is right in the middle of the park, with a view of the east and west of the middle of the Grand Canyon.In addition, there is a cabin at this point, which introduces information about the geology and history of the Grand Canyon.Because it is very close to the visitor center and is a well-known and must-see attraction, it is often very crowded and crowded.

Mather Point

Also near Yavapai and the Visitor Center, Mather Point is also one of the most popular tourist attractions.Among the points of these visitor centers, you can take the yellow shuttle bus to reach them.But actually it's not that far. (10-15 minutes)

Desert View Point

Desert View is at the easternmost point of the park, and you need to drive there by yourself. There is no shuttle bus provided in the park to reach it. It is about 30-40 minutes away from the main park by car.The special feature here is this lookout tower that can see the Grand Canyon and the Colorado River from a nearly easternmost point of view.If you drive to this point by car, in fact, there are quite a few small attractions on the way to stop and take pictures. The scenery of the scenic spots every 10 minutes by car is very different.

In addition, if you drive east from this point, you can leave the Grand Canyon National Park area, and after connecting to the outside road, you can drive north to Horseshoe Bend, Page Town, and Antelope Canyon.If you plan the Grand Canyon, Antelope Canyon, Horseshoe Bend for two days and one night, then this point can almost be directly included in the itinerary because you can pass by.At the end of the article, we will recommend different multi-day groups that you can join, or you can also refer to the itinerary of the group and play by yourself on the same route.

 

What season is suitable for traveling to the Grand Canyon?

In the summer, the canyon is very hot, sometimes it is raining heavily, and there are a large number of people everywhere. Not only the Native Americans will bring their families to travel in the summer, but also international tourists. If time permits, summer nights are perfect for camping in the Grand Canyon (South Gorge) park, or staying in a log cabin to experience the atmosphere of the canyon from morning to night and the fun of the picnic.

The icy weather in winter scares away most visitors, with the least number of visitors this season. But this time actually has its own characteristics, the snow-covered Grand Canyon is another beautiful view.

Spring and autumn are good seasons to visit the Grand Canyon. The temperature will not be too hot or too cold, the crowd in the park will not be as much as summer, and because it is not the peak season, booking accommodation in the park will be relatively cheaper. If you like hiking, the climate of this season is the most suitable for hiking.

Summary: Summer (6-8 month) is the hottest and most popular, suitable for camping, the most expensive accommodation in the park; less people in spring and autumn, cheaper accommodation; winter people will snow at least, so it can be very cold, but accommodation It is also relatively cheap.

Overnight in the South Canyon, stay in the park, cabins, camping

In addition, if you want to spend a little more time in the Grand Canyon, you can stay in a hotel or wooden house in the park for one night (to be ordered very early). There are supermarkets and breakfast shops in the park, where you can also buy almost all the equipment, food, and simple meals that camping needs, which is quite convenient.

Accommodation in the park is usually booked through the official website: https://www.visitgrandcanyon.comYavapai Lodge is a budget wooden house accommodation in the park.

There are different points in camping in the park. For more information, please refer toGrand Canyon National Park's official website

Table format comparison compares Xixia and Nanxia

  West Rim South Rim
Distance from Las Vegas 125 miles 275 miles
One-way car time 2-2.5 hours 4.5-5 hours
Attractions richness medium high
Best tour length (days) 1 multiple days
IFunVegas Recommendation 3.5/5 5/5
Single-day tour price From $120 per person
Click here to view and book
From $115 per person
Click here to view and book
small plane group From $299 per person
Click here to view and book
From $559 per person
Click here to view and book
Helicopter regiment From $429 per person
Click here to view and book
not applicable
Other features Skywalk, helicopter and boat ride, pass by the Hoover Dam There is a park for camping.Valley Helicopter

 

Q: Do I still need to go to the West Canyon and the Glass Bridge after going to the South Grand Canyon National Park?

A: Our advice is: no.Because the South Canyon has seen a lot of Grand Canyon scenery, returning to the West Canyon will be relatively boring and the cost is not low.On the contrary, it will feel that the CP value is very low.Unless you particularly want to experience the glass bridge, travelers who have been to the South Canyon will usually not push the West Canyon again.

Pros: Plenty of sights to see the Grand Canyon from different sights and angles.The park's transportation and facilities are abundant and complete, suitable for staying in hotels, cabins, inns, tents or RV camping.It is suitable for two days and one night or three days and two nights groups (in addition to the South Canyon, you can also go to Antelope Canyon, Horseshoe Bend, Baoweihu and other areas).

Disadvantages: The location is far from Las Vegas, and the one-day group ride takes a long time.

Summary

Select Page

大峽谷地理位置

西峽谷 (有玻璃橋)

去西峽谷應該要去玻璃橋嗎?

南峽谷(國家公園,沒有玻璃橋)

Image from Grand Canyon National Park website

南峽谷哪些點的風景最漂亮? 不可錯過南峽景點

Hopi Point

Hopi Point 是大峽谷當中可以觀賞全方位景致的景點之一。與南緣的任何其他點相比,它結合了峽谷西邊和東邊的美妙景色。這個點是著名看日落的好地方。

Hopi Point 位於 Hermit Drive,沿著大峽谷園區內走到最西邊可以進入這條路綫。而從3月起到到11月,這條 Hermit Drive 都會關閉,不允許私人車輛進出,不過有一個園内免費提供的穿梭巴士綫路,從 Bright Angel Lodge 西邊出發,你可以很輕鬆的搭乘這穿梭巴士綫在 Hermit Drive 當中的景點遊走。一般為15分鐘一班,所以你可以算好時間,每個點停15分或30分鐘然後再搭車到下個點。如果不搭車,你也可以慢慢走,沿著步行到 Hopi Point。從 Hermit Drive 起點開始你會需要走約2英里的路程才會到 Hopi Point,不過沿途你也會經過幾個不錯的其他景點。

Powell Point

Powell Point 就在 Hopi Point 以東不遠,擁有極佳的東部風光,是一個看日出的好地方。由於它不像 Hopi Point 那麼有名,所以到這個點的人相對少很多。與 Hopi Point 同樣可以搭西邊的紅綫穿梭巴士到達,你也可以沿著步道步行到此。(距離西邊入 Hermit Drive 也是約2英哩左右的距離)

Powell Point 以 John Wesley Powell 的名字命名,他是第一個成功從科羅拉多河,完成一趟探索大峽谷之旅的人。這一歷史性成就的紀念碑就位於 Powell Point。

Bright Angel Point

Bright Angel 位於 Powell Point 的東邊,而到了 Bright Angel 的必去點有 El Tovar酒店 和 Kolb Studio。El Tovar酒店 曾經接待過很多來自各國的明星、名人及政要的酒店,如果考慮在大峽谷留宿 ,可以嘗試預訂 El Tovar酒店,一嘗像名人般的體驗。Kolb Studio 是在大峽谷國家公園内最早期的建築物之一,由 Kolb兄弟 於1902年依大峽谷山崖邊而建,本是建為 Kolb兄弟 的住家和影樓,在70年代大峽谷國家公園把它買下來,後來改為美術館、書店和咨詢中心用途。

Kolb Studio at Grand Canyon National Park

Yavapai Point

Yavapai Point 就在遊客中心的附近。這個點正好在園區的正中間,一覽大峽谷正中間向東向西的景色。此外,這個點有間小木屋,裡面介紹了關於大峽谷的地質、歷史等資訊。由於他離遊客中心很近,又是知名的火熱必去景點,因此這邊常常非常多人,十分擁擠。

Mather Point

同樣在 Yavapai 和遊客中心附近,Mather Point 同樣是最熱門遊客必造訪的景點之一。在這幾個遊客中心的點,當中可以坐黃綫的穿梭巴士達至。不過實際上走路距離也都不遠。(10-15分鐘)

Desert View Point

Desert View 這個點在園區的最東邊,而這邊需要自駕前往,沒有園內提供的穿梭巴士能送達,離主園區已經約30-40分鐘車程的距離。這裡的特色是有這個瞭望塔可以從近乎最東邊的角度看大峽谷以及科羅拉多河。如果是自駕前往這個點,其實途中也有相當多的小景點可以停留下來拍照,每相隔10分鐘車程的景點景色都大不同。

另外,從這個點再往東開,就可以開離大峽谷國家公園區域了,而接到外面的公路以後,往北面走就可以開到馬蹄灣、佩吉小鎮、羚羊峽谷的地區。如果你計畫大峽谷、羚羊谷、馬蹄灣兩天一夜,那麼這個點幾乎是可以直接列入行程中因為可以順路經過。在文末我們會推薦可以參加的不同的多日團,或是同樣的路線你也可以參考團的行程然後自駕遊玩。

 

什麼季節適合去大峽谷旅遊?

夏季時峽谷內非常炎熱,有時還會下暴雨,並且到處都有大量的人群,不僅美國本地人會在夏季帶家人來旅遊,國際遊客也特別多。如果時間允許的話,夏夜非常適合在大峽谷(南峽)園區內露營,或是入住小木屋,體驗峽谷內從早到晚不同時段的風情以及野餐的趣致。

冬天的冰冷天氣嚇跑了大多數遊客,這個季節旅客最少。但這段時間其實也有它的特色,大雪覆蓋的大峽谷是亦另一種的美麗景緻。

春季和秋季都是不錯的季節參訪大峽谷。溫度不會太熱也不會太冷,園內的人群不會夏天一樣多,也因為不是旺季,因此園內預訂住宿也會相對便宜一些。如果你喜歡健行,這個季節的氣候是最適合健行的。

總結: 夏天(6-8月)最熱且人最多,適合露營、園內住宿最貴;春天、秋天人潮較少,住宿較便宜;冬天人最少會下雪,所以可以到很冷,不過住宿也相對便宜。

南峽谷過夜入住園內小木屋、露營

此外如果你想要花多一點時間在大峽谷,你可以住一晚園內的旅館、木屋(要提前很早訂)。園內有超市和早餐店,那裡也可以買到幾乎所有露營會需要的器材、食物、簡餐等,相當方便。

園內住宿一般要透過官方網站來訂: https://www.visitgrandcanyon.com,Yavapai Lodge是園內經濟型的木屋住宿。

而園內露營有不同的點,詳細資訊可以參考大峽谷國家公園的官方網站

表格式整理比較西峽、南峽

  西峽 南峽
距離拉斯維加斯 125英里 275英里
單程坐車時間 2-2.5小時 4.5-5小時
景點豐富度 中等
適合天數 1 1-3天
IFunVegas推薦指數 3.5/5 5/5
單日團價格 每位 $120起
點此查看及預訂
每位 $115起
點此查看及預訂
小飛機團 每位 $299起
點此查看及預訂
每位 $559起
點此查看及預訂
直升機團 每位 $429起
點此查看及預訂
(更多航空團)
不適用
其他特色 印地安人保護區,玻璃橋,直升機及谷底遊船,途經胡佛水壩停留 有園區可露營,谷內直升機

 

Q:去了南大峽谷國家公園後還需要去西峽谷及玻璃橋嗎?

A: 我們的建議是: 不需要。因為南峽谷已經看到了很豐富的大峽谷的景色,回到西峽谷會覺得相對無聊,並且費用也不低。反而會覺得CP值很低。除非特別想要去體驗玻璃橋,否則去過南峽谷的旅客,我們通常不會再推西峽谷。

南峽谷優點: 景點豐富,從不同的景點和角度欣賞大峽谷。園區交通和設施豐富和完善,適合入住酒店、小木屋、旅館、帳篷或房車露營。適合兩天一夜或是三天兩夜的團(除了南峽谷之外,還可以去到羚羊峽谷、馬蹄灣、包偉胡等地區)。

缺點: 位置離拉斯維加斯較遠 (單程約 4.5-5 小時),一日團坐車往返,時間比較長。

總結